Skip to main content

Skip to navigation menu

Bienal Internacional de Arquitectura

Skip to navigation menu


The call for the Peña Ganchegui Prize to Young Basque Architecture is open until July 7

  • It will be awarded this year for the fourth time with the aim of giving visibility to young people who contribute to the promotion, development and consolidation of architectural culture.
  • The winner will be announced on 16 October 2023, within the framework of the fourth edition of the Basque Country International Architecture Biennial Mugak/.
  • After formalizing the registration, those who participate will have until September 7 to submit their candidacy and will be eligible for a cash prize of €6,000.

The Peña Ganchegui Prize for Young Basque Architecture will be awarded this year for the fourth time and has already opened its registrations. The biennial award was created in 2017 by the Basque Government and the Peña Ganchegui Archive in memory of one of the leading figures of Basque architecture in the second half of the 20th century. Its aim is to recognise a young architectural career and at the same time promote a career with an emerging projection.

Those who wish to apply for this fourth edition may do so until 7 July and opt to join the prize-winning studios in the three previous editions: Pauzarq, the ARCE+BERASATEGUI tandem, and the Ocamica Tudanca Arquitectos studio. Aimed at architecture professionals who qualified less than 10 years ago, who have studied or work in the Basque Country, the prize consists of €6,000 in cash and the winner will be announced on 16 October, as part of the Basque Country International Architecture Biennial Mugak/.

The award seeks to give visibility to those contributions that, besides representing exemplary professional practice, contribute to promoting, developing and consolidating architectural culture. To this end, this 2023 will have a jury composed of María Langarita (Zaragoza, 1979), who shares a practice with Victor Navarro and is a professor at the School of Architecture of Madrid; Fernando Márquez (Madrid, 1957), who together with Richard Levene runs the practice and publishing house El Croquis and has been a professor at the School of Architecture and Art of the European University of Madrid; and Antonio Ortiz (Seville, 1947), who shares a professional practice with Antonio Cruz and is an honorary professor at the University of Seville. Completing the jury, with voice but no vote, are the architects Rocío Peña, president of the Peña Ganchegui Archive, and Pablo García Astrain, director of Housing, Land and Architecture of the Basque Government.

Applications may be submitted individually or collectively, and the candidates themselves must provide their own merits, which may include works, projects and research work that make a contribution to the field of architecture, covering all areas and scales, from the design of objects to interventions in the territory. After formalising their registration before 7 July, candidates will have until 7 September 2023 to submit their candidature.

More information and rules.

The Programme is being prepared