Skip to main content

Skip to navigation menu

Bienal Internacional de Arquitectura

Skip to navigation menu


The call for the Peña Ganchegui Prize to young Basque architecture is open until July 25

  • It will be awarded this year for the third time in order to give visibility to young trajectories that contribute to promote, develop and consolidate architectural culture.
  • After formalizing the registration, those who participate will have until September 5 to present their candidacy.
  • The candidatures will be the subject of an exhibition to be held in November, within the framework of the third edition of the Euskadi International Architecture Biennial, Mugak/.

The Peña Ganchegui prize will be awarded this year for the third time and its registrations have already opened. The award, created in 2017 by the Basque Government and the Peña Ganchegui Archive, seeks to reward young Basque architecture. This third edition is celebrated on the 95th anniversary of the birth of the architect Luis Peña Ganchegui, who died in 2009, one of the greatest references of Basque Architecture in the second half of the 20th century.

Endowed with a remuneration of €6.000 in cash, it aims to recognize and at the same time promote a young architectural career with emerging projection. The two previous editions recognized, respectively, the study of San Sebastián PAUZARQ and the Biscayan tandem ARCE + BERASATEGUI. With this new call it is intended to give visibility to those contributions that, in addition to assuming an exemplary professional practice, contribute to promoting, developing and consolidating architectural culture.

The prize, which is awarded every two years, will be given on October 7, coinciding with the Architecture Week. The candidatures will be the subject of an exhibition during the Euskadi International Architecture Biennial, Mugak/, which this 2021 also celebrates its third edition. Those who wish to participate may do so individually or in groups and will have until July 25 to register. Afterwards, they will be able to present their candidacy until September 5. You can check the rules here and register here.

The jury for this edition will be made up of architecture professionals from different parts of Spain. On the one hand, the professor at the Barcelona School of Architecture Elías Torres (Ibiza, 1944). On the other, the professor at the Seville School of Architecture, María González (Huelva, 1975). Finally, the editor-in-chief of the Swiss digital newspaper TRANSFER Global Architecture Platform and professor at the School of Architecture of Friborg Isabel Concheiro (Santiago de Compostela, 1976). The jury is completed, with voice but without vote, by the also architects Rocío Peña, president of the Peña Ganchegui Archive, and Pablo García Astrain, director of Housing, Land and Architecture of the Basque Government.

The Programme is being prepared